SPC cross country teams fare well in Abilene

SPC cross country teams fare well in Abilene

South Plains College men's cross country team wins the Bill Libby Invitational, hosted by McMurry University, in Abilene, Texas Friday evening.

Sophomore, Hassan Abdi, led the Texans finishing first with a time of 15:20.78 minutes. Newcomers, Nicholas Rotich (15:49.79), Jose Silva (16:03.79), and Deric Martinez (16:14.97) finished sixth, eighth, and ninth consecutively. While sophomore, Kelvin Keter finished seventh with a time of 16:01.45, and freshmen Conner Hughes (16:22.71) and Omero Rodriguez (16:26.22) placed 12th and 13th.

The Texan team led with 31 points, which was 36 points less than the runner-up team, Texas Wesleyan University from Fort Worth, Texas.

The women's team finished sixth overall with 174 points, led by veteran, Kassidi Jones with a time of 21:25.14. Finishing next for the Lady Texans were freshmen Heather Maldonado with a time of 22:17.36, Mya Perez with a time of 22:23.60, Megan Kinsey with a time of 22:37.02, and Sasha-Gaye Whyte with a time of 23:02.47.

 The SPC cross country teams will be traveling back to Abilene on Sept. 18 to compete in the Abilene Christian University Invitational.